Not the Crown, the Character

In recent events, I find myself commonly speaking about people accepting me for who I really am versus for who they believe and want me to be. I plan to use myself as an example, but this is something I often see done to others, as well. With myself, most of almost everyone I deal with on a consistent basis only see’s me in one type of atmosphere whether that be at school, church, going out, and so forth. Now, it wouldn’t be fair to assume that the person you see in a serious setting acts EXACTLY the same in a more relaxed background. No! It’s not realistic. The misfortune comes from not being able to observe an individual in different environments. Fortunately, this lack of observation can be petitioned by intellectual conversation with a wide spectrum of subjects. Realistically, most people do not get the pleasure of one, another, or both. Keeping this in mind, why is it fair to try to put a person in a box after few mild interaction. You’ve labeled this person to be this one particular way with zero consideration of the characteristics they may carry but you’ve yet to be exposed to due to your limiting of their personality.
I’m very sensitive, emotional, compassionate, merciful, and at times overwhelmingly honest ( some say aggressive), but I feel a lot of times I’m perceived as outgoing, flirty, fun, and a “ party girl.”

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

IMG_1161I hate the last one especially, because contrary to popular belief, I am not. I’m in my early 20s and would more than agree I do enjoy having fun, but I also enjoy expressing myself, appreciating others, and being appreciated. I love to love, be happy, and laugh. At times I feel I’m penalized for that, because people don’t always know when to take me serious or even take advantage of my kindness. When you find your soulmate/significant other I hope it won’t be entirely based off one interaction. I like to believe that humans are more complex and unique than to be defined by your first impression or interaction. You never know a person’s story or even how far they’ve came from where they used to be, to be who they are now. Give people a chance to share themselves and be transparent if that is what they desire. Everyday, scrolling through social media, sitting in class, watching political debates, one is putting down the opinion of others in an attempt to gain recognition for their own. Life requires more than only seeing your perspective. Consider all. Your soul should be a light used to shine on others, your heart light bringing joy, and a smile so warm it’s always inviting. Humbly exemplify transparency and truth. Remembering that the power isn’t in the crown, it’s in the character.

Leave a Reply

